Types of Owls

Facts about owls cartoon © Karin Pinter

Here we’ll explore the different types of owls with cartoon representations of Niki Owl and his owl friends, plus fun facts and information about what they eat and where they live.

Owls belong to a group of birds called Strigiformes, which is divided into two smaller groups, known as families. One family is called Tytonidae and includes Barn Owls, which have heart-shaped faces. The other family is called Strigidae, and includes all other owls, most of which have round faces. There are over 200 species of owls around the world and they are mostly nocturnal (which means they’re awake at night).

Different types of owls

Below you’ll find a list of some of the more prevalent types of owls:

Barn Owl
Burrowing Owl
Eagle Owl
Elf Owl
Great Grey Owl
Great Horned Owl
Little Owl – this is Niki!!
Long Eared Owl
Short Eared Owl
Snowy Owl
Spectacled Owl
Spotted Owl

Discover more fun facts about owls.